Friday Fictioneers–25 October 2013

Today, I’m celebrating my 700th blog post, and inviting Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the whole band of merry Fictioneers.

Here’s the photo prompt for this week’s Friday Fictioneers, with 100-word story following.

Copyright--Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright–Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The Birthday Party

The house was full of laughter and energy as the tween girls raced across the oak floor in their sock feet seeing who could skate the farthest, their horseplay interrupted only by frequent snack attacks. Ellie’s birthday sleepover had been a success—in her eyes—as there had been very little sleep for anyone in the house. Every so often, someone would approach and ask if I’d drive them to the mall. Unsure of the result of unleashing a gaggle of giggly girls on unwary shoppers and merchants, I told them, “I’d love to, but I can’t find my keys.” 

Linking to Friday Fictioneers
Bring your 100-word story and join in the fun! You’ll meet some amazing people.

scalpel

53 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers–25 October 2013

  1. Congratulations on the 700th post. I’m bringing homemade scones with cherries and dark chocolate chips and all sorts of tea so that we can have a party…if I can just find my keys. 🙂 Way to take off from the photo.

    janet

    Like

  2. Dear Patti,

    Wow. 700 posts! You’re way ahead of me.

    I remember the days of “non-slumber” parties. Well done. Love the last line…resourceful and wise mom. Thank you for the smiles.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  3. Dear Patti,

    A brilliantly imaginative take on the prompt. Perfectly illustrated and wonderfully realized. Even a plausible excuse. Well done.

    I loved your ‘gaggle of giggly girls’ line, too.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  4. sleepovers! yey! haha no, seriously, i didn’t enjoy sleepovers very much. i was weird like that. ^^ congratulations on your 700th blog post (though i’m a little late) looking forward to more of your awesome posts 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

