Random 5 Friday

It’s Friday, the end of the week, and the fun is about to begin! Let’s kick it off with Random 5 Friday.

1. Leaving my eye doctor’s office today, I found a mermaid in the shopping center parking lot! I love surprises! Especially mermaid surprises.

 

Norfolk Mermaid

Norfolk Mermaid

2. One of our granddaughters has a birthday Saturday. She’ll be a teenager! There’s a slumber(less) party, and probably ย all kinds of craziness. And we’re invited!

3.ย We found this really cool moth clinging outside the grocery store. I’m so thankful to have a camera phone.

IMG_0999

4. I finally got started on this scrapbook. It’s 6″ x 6″ pages using the grid paper from Snap N Crop. I couldn’t bear to crop the squirrel to fit the page, so I overlapped it.

IMG_0993

5. Our big old oak tree is shedding its leaves already. It seems rather early for that. The acorns are dropping, too, which will keep my squirrel and blue-jay buddies busy for a few weeks.

Have a great weekend, I’ll see you sometime Monday.

For more randomness, check out Nancy’s Random 5 Friday meme on A Rural Journal.ย 

 

38 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. fun mermaid! happy birthday to your grand-daughter and i laughed at the slumber(less) party. isn’t that the truth! i’ve noticed some changes in the trees here — even in the heat, but think *they* think fall must be coming because the days are getting shorter. i sure hope they know!

    Like

    • Some years we still have green leaves on the oak in December. My sister-in-law from Michigan couldn’t believe it when visiting one year, their leaves were long gone. My hubby got a flat tire on the way home from work, which delayed our trip until Saturday. I guess we’ll sleep tonight, after all.

      Like

  2. Neat moth. We have several of those hummingbird moths which were trying to fool me into thinking they were actual hummingbirds. Fall is coming here, too, as I have noticed a few trees changing colors. Sigh.

    Like

  3. The Youth at church found a baby squirrel that had fallen out of its nest. Its she’s were still closed. Aww! You’re right about the sleep-less . Teenage years are so much fun. Enjoy

    Like

    • Do you know what became of the baby? I read that the mama carries the little ones from nest to nest by the scruff of their necks, and have witnessed it. I hope it’s ok. We had some delays and didn’t leave until Saturday. By the time we got there, the birthday girl was wiped out from lack of sleep. After a couple naps, she was feeling better.

      Like

    • The sun was really bright, and I had only my cell phone when I photographed the mermaid, Pix. She’s really pretty and her scales and fins are dazzling in real life. The squirrels must LOVE your place. Happy Monday!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

