Friday Fictioneers 6 September 2013

Copyright--Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright–Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Above is the photo prompt for this week’s Friday Fictioneers meme.

Downsizing

Harold lazed in front of the tv in his underwear, beer in hand. An ad came on for the incredible Downsizer. “Hon, have you seen this? You could use one of those to tidy up around here.” Slurp.

Heidi thought a minute, and dialed the number.

A few days later, it arrived. She tried it out on a few of the children’s toys and was quite pleased with the results.

“Can you bring me another beer?”

Heidi could no longer resist the temptation. She handed him the bottle with one hand, and pressed the Downsizer button with the other.

scalpel

41 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers 6 September 2013

  1. Dear Patti,

    That’s one heck of a picture you painted of Harold. Somehow I picture him in his grabbing his crotch while slurping his beer.

    I can only imagine what the Downsize is downsizing. 😉 Well crafted and tight writing.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  2. Dear Patti,

    A lovely story. I know what is being downsized. His attitude. It certainly can’t be his brains. They need an Upsizer.

    I think you need to capitalize ‘incredible’, scalpel girl.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    • Dear Doug,

      Thanks for reading and pointing out the error of my ways. I was going for inflection with the italics…what I heard in my head (the voice of the announcer) didn’t translate in print. I left the word incredible as an adjective and removed the italic font. I like the idea of upsizing his brain!

      Blessings,
      Patti

      Like

  3. Funny. I need one as we continue to cart out boxes, stuff, etc. You know we’re downsizing. And — ooo — such a cute miniature rack. I can’t part with ours. It has made the cut of what goes and what stays.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

