Friday Fictioneers–23 August 2013

Copyright-- Claire Fuller

Copyright– Claire Fuller

Last Rites

The diagnosis came, “It’s terminal,” the doctor said. The words hit hard, but deep inside, we knew. We had watched her fade after multiple surgeries to remove diseased parts. Braces could no longer support her weakened limbs; the loss of balance and stability, the decrease in body mass–a harbinger of things to come. The once-strong arms couldn’t provide the shelter and security of their younger days. Her presence had become a liability.  Who knew when she might fall? Then what would we do? It was decided, she would spend her final days at the Laguna Beach Sawdust Art Festival. 

Linking to Friday Fictioneers.
Click the link for more information about the 100-word-photo-prompt fiction stories. It’s open to everyone.

Feel free to cut

Feel free to cut

44 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers–23 August 2013

  1. And here I thought they were talking of the matriarch of the family. I thought it was pretty harsh to call her a liability 🙂 A sawdust festival is a respectable end for a tree, though.

    Like

    • Thanks for taking the time to figure it out, Patrick. Fiction is new to me, so I’m still finding my way. I didn’t want to give it away too soon, but maybe I should have?

      Like

  2. Very clever. At first, I was thinking you were talking about the building caving in – and I wondered what you meant about the sawdust festival. It wasn’t until I read the comments that I got it was the tree. I must be pretty wooden-headed.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

