Mama Kat’s–Lesson Learned

When I got Mama Kat’s email with the writing prompts Tuesday, I was leaning toward writing a sappy post about my first crush. Alas, you shall have to wait until another time for that one.

Since I’ve learned a few lessons in the last 24 hours, I’m going to decide on one of those and go with  1. A lesson you learned.  How timely! 

It all started 2-3 weeks ago when I told someone how happy we’d been with our bundled phone/cable/internet service.  We’ve been with the same company for over 30 years, which was before we even had internet. I’m pretty sure the phone had been invented at that time. 

Ever since that conversation, we’ve had intermittent outages with either cable, internet, or both. We have reset modems and cable boxes until our re-setter wore out. We’ve had service calls scheduled and service calls cancelled. 

After a 24-hour cable outage, service was scheduled for this morning, between 8-10:00 a.m. I got up early, dressed, did my hair, and applied a light dusting of makeup. Didn’t want to be scary or anything. 

The cardinal chirped, and I decided I could quickly put a scoop of seed in the feeder. Done, walked back into the kitchen and heard my phone’s tone for a new voice message. It was a recorded message, telling me the tech had come to my door but got no answer, so I needed to call and reschedule the appointment. 

I thought he should still be in the driveway, but no, he was gone. I called quickly, as quickly as one can, pressing buttons, navigating the phone tree to talk to a person–or hold for the next available associate.  The appointment was rescheduled for Thursday. Wednesday evening, I got a prerecorded reminder of the appointment, complete with message that the technician WOULD CALL when he was on his way. Why was there no call today, I wondered? 

Much to my delight, the cable was working this evening, and I cancelled the appointment, again. Here are the lessons I learned:

1. Do NOT even go to the bathroom when you are waiting for someone to show up.
2. It might be wise to wait for them on the front porch. 

And this is a bonus tip, having nothing to do with techs and service:
Keep the jar of almond butter upright as you unscrew the lid, or you just might condition your floor with almond oil, like I did. 

Now you know why I don’t do mornings. 
Linking to Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop

But if we wait expectantly for things we have never seen, then we hope with true perseverance and eager anticipation. Romans 8:25
32 thoughts on “Mama Kat’s–Lesson Learned

  1. Yep on both Patti! 😀 And that staying home waiting on people to do work for you stinks. We have spent a whole week waiting on people to show up to do work and it’s giving me a cranky. I NEED to get out of the house today! And it’s pouring here ALL the time. We finally got more rain than even I can stand!

    Like

    • I’m glad you’ve gotten rain, Pix, but I hope you aren’t in the flooded areas I heard or read about. We’ve had our share of no-shows. Cranky is putting it mildly.

      Like

    • I’m really happy with the internet service they provide, Theresa, the best in our area. I really don’t want to got through a change in that. A vehicle snagged a line that crosses the street, so I wonder how much that was part of our intermittent problem.

      Like

  2. I have had the exact same experience with cable service in the past. I was home, waiting, and was informed that the technician had come and gone. Frankly, I didn’t believe he ever knocked or rang the bell. He just had too much on his plate, and skipped me and blamed me all at the same time.

    Don’t open jars upside down! That sounds like a good lesson. Thanks, Patti 🙂

    Like

    • I’m sure they like to mark that job off the list and move onto the next, Robin. I keep forgetting some of those nut butters have so much oil on top where it separates. I’m used to Jif, it stays in the jar when I have it tilted in one hand, removing the lid with the other. What a mess!

      Like

  3. I can relate. I was expecting the city inspector to inspect our new garage door and just stepped outside for a split second like you did. I got something in the back yard, but luckily I walked around the house and arrived in time to see him starting to walk away from the front door and caught him. A second longer and he’d have disappeared.

    Like

  4. Service calls can be so frustrating that way. It never fails, you step away for a minute and that’s when they show up. I missed a FedEx delivery because I was too slow getting down the stairs and he was a fast driver. It was a signature required delivery- I caught him the next day 🙂 I’m glad your internet is working at the moment. Cross my fingers it lasts!

    Like

  5. I am NOT a morning person either!!! Let me have my coffee and quiet time, and stay in my pj’s for at least one hour after I get up. Have been caught in them by then mailman, and UPS and FedX. oopps!

    Like

    • Thanks, Carol Ann. The guy who took the request for service noticed we’d been a long-term customer and commented. He seemed surprised. I guess people switch all the time. Or move, there’s a lot of that in a military town.

      Like

  6. Boooo I hate those kinds of appointments where they’ll be there between 8am and NOON or whatever. So unfair…we’re paying for the broken service, get over here and fix it now!

    Also, no joke I totally spilled almond oil on our floors this weekend! I read that lesson too late!!

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

