Random 5 Friday

It’s still Friday somewhere, right? At least for a wee bit longer. Time for Random 5 Friday at Nancy’s blog, A Rural Journal.8616512946_a8c5cf857d_o

Come join the fun, where you share five random facts about you, your day, kids or pets, whatever!  Or just see what others have shared.

1. It was cool earlier in the day, 70s and 80s, compared to what we’ve been having–90s. We’ve had a few days of thunderstorms this week, too; all in all, favorable conditions for weeds. Today, I decreased their population considerably.

2. I need someone to remind me I am not as young as I used to be–before I deadhead, weed, and prune for hours. It was so nice to be outside, I didn’t want to come back inside.

3. My arm bone is  connected to my shoulder bone, which is connected to my neck bone.  There’s your anatomy lesson for the day.

4. The only spider I like is Spider Solitaire. If you do not play, don’t start. You have been warned. 

5. I finally found caterpillars on the fennel! These will metamorphose into Black Swallowtail butterflies. Shown are three of the five instars (larval stages) before they molt into the chrysalis. 

backyard 2013 040backyard 2013 042 backyard 2013 039

 

33 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. Ok 5 random facts about me:
    1. I took yesterday (Thursday) off to write. It was so nice to have a day to myself in the middle of the week. I must do that more often.
    2, My black cat, Monkey, likes to sleep in the room I do my writing. She thinks its her room.
    3. I just ate three mini cinnamin rolls and don’t feel guilty at all
    4. I finally joined Pinterest
    5. It’s Friday where I am right now.

    Like

    • Good random facts, Darlene. Cinnamon rolls are a favorite, but I don’t buy them and don’t feel guilty. I hope you got a lot of writing done on your day off. I haven’t succumbed to Pinterest yet.

      Like

  2. I’m with you on loving this weather!
    And Spider Solitaire IS addictive. My late friend, Phyllis, taught me to play several years ago. Now, whenever I play, I think of her.

    Like

    • Hi Dianna, I used to play the pyramid one, I ended up deleting it off my computer so I’d get something else done! Hope you’re out enjoying the lovely day.

      Like

  3. laughing at your anatomy lesson, but feeling sorry for you, too! 🙂

    i just recently saw ‘spider solitaire’ in my games menu and wondered if i should click it. once in a blue moon, i’ll play the regular version.

    cool caterpillars! enjoy the cool-down!

    Like

    • Thanks, Theresa. I should know better by now–I am feeling better today. It’s nice to have all that behind me, though. It’s a good day to sit outside with a good book. Until the mosquitoes join me.

      Like

  4. Hi Patti ~~ I am back here to your R 5 post where I started. It is a good one.

    Thank you for the anatomy lesson. I have heard that before in song. Mrs. Jim is addicted to Spider Solitaire. I don’t play it AT ALL. I was trying to show her how stupid it is to spend so much time on the computer doing that by starting a blog. 🙂
    ..

    Like

    • Thanks, Jim. They must call it Spider Solitaire because it weaves a web that keeps one from doing anything else. Still laughing at how you showed Mrs. Jim to cut down computer time by starting a blog. We all know where that road leads–all around the world.

      Like

  5. Cinnamon rolls and spider solitaire make a fine pair. Sip coffee, bite of cinnamon roll, wipe fingers, back to spider solitaire. Don’t tell me there’s nothing to do. I just got a spider solitaire app on my phone. I conquered easy and medium. Now I’m play the hard game. I can’t win it very often, but it’s fun. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

    • I haven’t ventured to the top level, yet, Carol Ann. I refuse to put it on my phone! I need to do other “stuff.” 😉 Cinnamon rolls sound wonderful. Blessings to you.

      Like

  6. Loved your anatomy lesson! And the butterfly lesson! And I will remind you that you’re not as young as you used to be if you will let me know ahead of time that you are planning on working outside all day. 🙂 Otherwise, it’ll be too late.

    Like

  7. I enjoyed reading the random facts. I agree with LInda that even though gardening can do a bit of wear and tear on the body that it often seems like it was worth it.

    Like

  8. First thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Enjoyed your random facts. I hear you loud and clear about #2 – I have the same problem at times. Oh and Spider Solitaire is so much fun. Do you play 1, 2 or 4 suits?

    Like

  9. Great news about the caterpillars! I’ve played Spider Solitaire, but only on the easier levels. Two suits is hard enough to win, four would just cause my mind to self-destruct!

    Like

    • After Ida wrote that, it kept nagging at me, so I had to check out the four-suits, Janna. My mind hasn’t self-destructed–YET. Or maybe it was already long gone?

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

