Random 5 Friday

Nancy at Rural Journal is hosting Random 5 Friday. The highlighted/underlined text is the link to her blog where you can find others sharing their five random thoughts. 

1. We’re expecting an uninvited guest today, Tropical Storm Andrea. Hopefully, she will be unimpressed with her visit here and will direct all her family members that pop up this season to avoid landfall. 

2. Scattered showers arose this morning, the sky was very dark, but now we have sunshine–and a tornado watch. That’s not something one wants to think about so soon after the the destruction wrought in Oklahoma. 

3. The bee balm is in full bloom. I took pictures last evening, just in case the winds and rain knock them down. That’s the butterfly bush behind it, getting ready to blossom. 

Bee balm blooming

Bee balm blooming

4. Had trigger point injections this morning; as I left my doctor’s office, I saw this mermaid in front of the building across the road. 

Oops! I cut off part of her tail fin.

Oops! I cut off part of her tail fin. 

5. Virginia Beach has a dolphin theme. We spotted this one on one of our Sunday drives.

Don't look now, but this one is missing part of its tail, too!

Don’t look now, but this one is missing part of its tail, too!

 

 

61 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. yay, mermaid girl! the injections do not sound like fun (reading your tag on why you get them – ouch!)

    your bee balm looks so different from what we call bee balm here (a wildflower). yours are brilliant!

    good luck with the weather!

    Like

    • Loved this mermaid! The injections have helped so much, Theresa. It’s not hard to bear a needle stick when relief comes almost instantly. I don’t remember what your bee balm looks like, but I know it’s different from ours. Thanks, hopefully it will miss us. 🙂

      Like

  2. Ooh Patti, hope you don’t get hit too hard with Andrea. We are getting some outer bands here in Central Florida but not bad.

    Love the dolphin.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • Thanks, Maxi. It looks like the heavier rains will arrive 8:00 p.m. or so. There are supposed to be other dolphins around, I’ll have to find out where.

      Like

  3. It’s 4:15 pm and though it’s looking kind of dicey, the weather report shows the worst is just west of us. Should be gone by the morning. Sorry about the CMP.

    Like

    • It would be nice if it all moves off overnight, Al. Got your pant legs rolled up to keep ’em dry? Thanks, I’m really seeing improvement in the CMP this year.

      Like

  4. You MUST be awesome brave . . i run away from needles.
    Storm, Storm, stay away . . hey! Thank you for sharing the marvelous mermaid.
    -g-

    Like

    • I’m glad I’ve never had a problem with needles, g. I’ve been told I’m stingy when it comes to having blood drawn, they go from arm to arm–and then find someone else to try it. Thanks for the “Storm stay away” cheer! I’m glad you like the mermaid, she’s my favorite, though I’ve only seen four of them. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  5. What do you have against tails, lol? Hope you avoid the weather and get some relief with your injections. I assume it’s for arthritis? The bee balm looks so pretty…think I might like to add that to my yard.

    Like

    • Good question, Sandy! I guess I should pay better attention when focusing. So far we have gentle rain and 28 mph winds.
      I think it is considered a type of arthritis, affecting muscles rather than joints. The injections provide instant relief and freedom of movement, though I have to ice and stretch when I get home for best results.
      I was surprised to see how much the bee balm spread this year. It got powdery mildew the first year, but no problems since. It smells great!

      Like

  6. I’m glad you were able to get your injections to help relieve some of that pain…isn’t modern medicine amazing? And I hope Andrea doesn’t show up in your neighborhood…crazy uninvited visitors…who want them?

    Your bee balm looks like what I had growing in my herb garden years ago..but it does manage to get battered by storms.

    Like

    • Yes, Patti, modern medicine is amazing. I had no pain before the injections today, only tightness. I really feel like I’m getting better.
      You’re right about the spindly stems not holding up well to storms. I use wire stakes to help support them.

      Like

  7. I hope the storm wasn’t too bad. I enjoyed the fun pictures of the mermaid and the dolphin. I also have trouble with missing tails, feet, etc. when I take photos. 🙂

    Like

  8. Sending out positive prayers for your visitor to come and go quickly and without to much chaos. Stay safe and take care.
    I like the sculptures. They’re so fun and cheery. 🙂

    Like

    • According to the Weather Channel, it has passed us by. Thank you for your prayers. I enjoy finding the sculptures, E.C., so far I’ve stumbled onto them, like finding treasure.

      Like

  9. Well, I know you got a lot of rain from Andrea. It was a very bad storm.
    That’s a nice meremaid. Guess waterfront towns have a lot of them, both statues and real ones. I hope you are okay from your injections.
    Thank you fore your visit and nice comment. We have a GM family car and I have three Fords for play. 1950, 1974, and 1998.
    ..

    Like

    • Not so much rain where we are, though low-lying areas probably flooded. I’m doing much better today, thank you. Three Fords for play? What models? Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  10. I love the mermaid and the dolphin. The bee balm is lovely, it is great for attracting the hummingbirds. I hope you survived the storm without any damage or floods. Lovely photos and post.

    Like

  11. Hope the storms bypass you! The weather anymore is so strange and scary

    Love the missing fin / tail shots! 🙂 I’d say it was an artistic decision! 🙂

    Like

    • Andrea came and went and we hardly knew she was here, Debra. Artistic expression, that’s a good reason for the missing fins! I’m glad you thought of it.

      Like

  12. Tried to comment before, but don’t think it went through – my Internet is on the fritz today. Hope your guest was polite and is already saying bye-bye! How do you contain the bee balm – mine is spreading uncontrollably!

    Like

    • This is the first year I can tell it really spread, Barb. We have black fabric weed barrier under the mulch, which probably helps. I would like the perennials to expand at will, but weeds also expand at will, and they seem to be a lot more willing!

      Like

    • That “chance” is always the kicker, Abrianna. One can’t plan for rain or sun, it’s just wait and see. I’m glad you like the dolphin. 🙂 Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  13. I hope Andrea has missed your area. I haven’t seen the news in several days, so I’m not current on what’s happening with it. I like the mermaid and dolphin, even if they are missing part of the fins 🙂 (I hate it when I do that because I don’t notice it until I’ve got the pictures on the computer – and it’s too late for a re-take!)

    Like

    • Andrea left us alone for the most part, Janna. Hopefully you’ll have good vacation weather. 🙂 You know all about this “pre-cropping, ” I see.

      Like

  14. beautiful mermaid and dolphin, I wonder who the artist is? We don’t have hurricanes or tornadoes-hope this passes unnoticed if that is possible! Ilove your bee balm! Thank you for dropping by my R5F.

    Like

    • Good question, Lynn. I’ll have to see if I can find out who creates these sculptures. No hurricanes or tornadoes–nice! I had an aunt in California, she said she’d rather have an earthquake than our coastal storms. Andrea didn’t pay us much mind, which was nice. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  15. I hope your weather is calming down a bit now, Patti… it’s been kind of scary at times, lately.
    Hahaha… I wouldn’t worry too much about the fin (I’m pretty sure they just grow back, don’t they)?!
    🙂

    Like

    • We had a tornado warning tonight, Robert. Things are still a bit squirrel-y, weatherwise; but hopefully the worst is past. I hope you’re right about the fin growing back!

      Like

  16. So glad you didn’t get too much of the rain and wind. Love that Bee-balm photo. Does the B-Balm plant have any healing properties?

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

