Random 5 Friday

I’m linking to Nancy’s Rural Journal, and here’s my offering for Random 5 Friday. 

1. Hubby will be home this evening! He’s been out of town, tending to paperwork  regarding his parents care now they’ve moved to a nursing home.  

2. Had lunch with a friend today, who is the caregiver for her mother. We stumbled onto another Norfolk mermaid. This reminds me I need to photograph  and share more of them.

Her expression looks as if she doesn't like me stealing her show.

Her expression looks as if she doesn’t like me stealing her show.

3. The bee balm is now blooming.

4. Earlier this week we bought plants for the butterfly garden. The host plants, fennel and milkweed are in the ground, still have lantana to plant this weekend.

5. Perfect timing, the clothes need to come out of the dryer, and I don’t have to think of a fifth random item!

Have a great weekend!

 

44 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

    • We thought she should have been turned the other way, a photo would have a marina as a backdrop instead of a parking lot. However, it faces the sidewalk as it is.

      Like

  1. When I lived in Philly, I should have taken pictures of all of the statues. No mermaids that I am aware of, but Ben Franklin and things related to him are everywhere. Philly has a lot of other statues, too.

    I love the Mermaid photo. They are popular these days. Animal Planet has a show all about mermaids, although I haven’t seen it.

    Like

    • I was encouraged when he said they are looking and feeling better than he’s seen them in years, Peg. Hubby is a bit more relaxed this morning, having met the deadlines this week. Thank you.

      Like

    • She did seem to have an attitude, Abby. 😉 I looked at the mermaid at the botanical garden, but it had no facial features. It will be interesting to see how the others are done.

      Like

  2. 🙂 Hi Patti ~~ I am glad Hubby is coming home now. It is hard to have out-of-town parents to help. Neither my sister nor I were near our parents.
    I like the idea of your butterfly garden. That may be something we have a little space here in our side yard. Google should find directions.
    Thank you for peeking in on me and leaving your nice comment. The card reader was $10.00 at Best Buy. It sure does make things easy.
    ..

    Like

  3. I like the randomness! (Probably not a good sign that it’s Tuesday and I’m just now reading Friday’s post :)) I can’t wait to see what butterflies visit you this year. I’m hoping we’ll see some butterflies when we hike in Shenandoah next week (yes, the DC trip is right around the corner!)

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

