Thursday’s Thoughts

My first thought is, “Can it really be Thursday, already?” 

The Asiatic Lilies went from this...

The Asiatic Lilies went from this…

...to this in nine days.

…to this in nine days.

I found the first Black Swallowtail caterpillar on the fennel this week.

I found the first Black Swallowtail caterpillar on the fennel this week.

Hubby is on the road again. His parents went from independent living in December to hospitals and nursing homes this spring. He says they seem to be relieved with not having the responsibilities of maintaining a home, preparing meals, laundry, etc. 

…a time for every purpose, under Heaven.
As Joyce Meyer says, “May the Lord’s blessings chase you down the street and overtake you.”

 

 

 

45 thoughts on “Thursday’s Thoughts

    • Thank you, Janna. I appreciate your thoughts for his travels. He’s pretty worn out right now. The lilies remind me of the verse, to observe them, neither do they toil and spin, yet not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself as one of these. Maybe I toil and spin (around in circles) to much!

      Like

  1. The Lilies are gorgeous!! I wish my Mother-in-law would concider this move but to date her cons out weight her pros, she says ‘I’m only 85 what is the hurry!’ It is nice your in-laws are together.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lynn. My in-laws were forced down this path after my FIL fell (he’s in his 90s). My MIL used a wheelchair the last couple of years or so, they made a good team, but with him away from home, she couldn’t take care of herself. Your MIL will know if/when the time is right for her to make that decision. Seriously, I hope you don’t have to go down this road.

      Like

    • I was surprised to find a caterpillar so soon, Georgette. Thanks for your kind words. They were forced down this road after my FIL fell, once outside, then again in the house and they couldn’t get him on his feet.

      Like

  2. Your daylillies – GORGEOUS. I juts noticed the first one in my yard – it’s a butterscotch yellow kind of color. I wonder if I’ll get a camera out to share??? hmmm –

    Thursday? Wowzer. “Thursdays Child Has far to Go” – although, for me today – it might be a stay at home a work on projects kind of day.

    love & love,
    -g-

    Like

    • I was surprised it took them so long, especially after the irises came and went so quickly, Dianna. I was just glad the buds didn’t fall off like my Christmas cactus used to.

      Like

    • Thanks, Theresa. I was looking for the caterpillar, either it wandered off, or one of our feathered friends snatched him. The Thrasher was thrashing about in the new mulch next to the fennel. It might have caught his eye.

      Like

    • The lilies are definitely the star of the show right now, Robert. Thank you. It’s been an involved process to get the paperwork, financials and such in order, especially from 400 miles away.

      Like

    • Thanks, Linda. Our weather made the leap from 70s to 90s this week. The lilies seem happy about that. Glad your flowers are blooming. We await them with much anticipation, don’t we?

      Like

  3. Oh, I hope your in-laws really are happily settled and getting the care they need so you and hubby can relax among those gorgeous lilies. “What a difference a day makes,” and your photos are beautiful.

    Like

  4. The time is flying all too quickly. You & I commiserated recently at “Is it May already?” and now it’s nearly June.

    Glad your in-laws have adjusted well. Transitions are hard at any age, even if welcomed and needed.

    The lilies are beautiful!

    Nancy

    Like

  5. Is it only Thursday? Such a long week….

    Beautiful photos. I love lilies, but I am so allergic to them!

    It is such a comfort to know that your parents (or in-laws) are happy where they live. I worry a little about what to expect.

    Like

    • I’m sorry to hear you are allergic to lilies, Robin. The week seems shorter to me since hubby was off Monday. I haven’t known what day it is all week! When my FIL was hospitalized, then sent to a nursing home/rehabilitation center, we knew it was only a matter of time before MIL would join him. She’s the one who brought it up and said that’s where she wanted to go and be with him, after getting by with help from their daughter for a couple months. It is helpful to the siblings to know their parents are happy there.

      Like

    • We weren’t sure how it was going to go at first, but they are settling in. MIL was able to go visit him, with the aid of her daughter, and got to know the employees and what to expect. I’m sure that was helpful for her to make up her mind.

      Like

  6. What beautiful lilies! And as bittersweet as it is, be grateful his parents have transitioned well. Or at least they have great attitudes about it. I think that’s the key to anything!

    Like

  7. What a beautiful display of God’s glorious creativity. Love the colors of those lilies. And thanks for sharing that Joyce Myer’s quote. I like it! 🙂

    Like

    • That’s one of my favorite quotes, Elizabeth. We can tell much about God’s character by seeing the detail he includes in the everyday things that are here today and gone tomorrow.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

