Backyard in May 2013

This was the view from the laundry room. Where's Waldo?

This was the view from the laundry room Saturday morning. Where’s Waldo?

Now you can see him/her better.

Now you can see him/her better.

The Yarrow has really spread out this year.

The Yarrow has really spread out this year.

Asiatic Lilies are laden with buds.

Asiatic Lilies are laden with buds.

High Mallow--one of the first garden plants I bought, and it never disappoints. Still a favorite.

High Mallow–one of the first garden plants I bought, and it never disappoints. Still a favorite.

Walker's Low Catmint

Walker’s Low Catmint

 

Irises don't last long enough!

Irises don’t last long enough!

Another new butterfly preparing for its first flight.

Another new butterfly preparing for its first flight.

I’m glad you stopped by! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

50 thoughts on “Backyard in May 2013

  1. Your nature pictures are so fun. I especially like the squirrel one!

    (I thought of you when I snapped some pics of a squirrel ‘yelling’ at me from a tree limb. I think he was telling me to ‘back off’ :))

    Like

  2. Beautiful, Patti! You’re right that irises don’t last long enough. The butterfly is gorgeous! I have some sort of lily ready to bloom – it must be asiatic, because it looks just like yours. (They’re in pots, and last year the deer mowed them down before they bloomed. This year, I’ve moved them to the deck!)

    Like

    • Good afternoon, Pix! I hope you are having a lovely Thursday. We have rain again today. I can see the weeds growing! LOL You have a good eye to find that little head amongst the ivy.

      Like

    • Haha, Susan. I didn’t take a picture of the bare spots. That trip to the garden center inspired me to get busy on that before the weeds take over. I just realized we have a three-day weekend, too, so hubby will be here (for a change) to help. 🙂

      Like

  3. Oh wow. A squirrel named Waldo – too cute, an abundance of yellow and purple flowers including purple irises – my favourite AND a stunning butterfly 🙂

    Like

  4. What a magnificent backyard you have Patti. I absolutely adore squirrels and always joke with my hubby and say all we need to complete our family is a couple of squirrels and a pair of giraffes.
    Have a lovely day and thanks for stopping past my blog.
    🙂 Mandy

    Like

    • IJoanna, ‘m partial to the black-swallowtail butterflies. This is one of several that spent the winter in an aquarium in our shed in their chrysalises. They’ve begun to emerge, so I moved the aquarium to the kitchen so they can be released as soon as they’re ready. It is an exciting transformation. Thanks for coming by to see.

      Like

  5. After spending the last 2 years getting the necessary part of our farm in shape, I have turned my attention to creating a few special flower gardens. I think I must add a Walker’s low catmint to the mix. So lovely!

    Like

    • Hi, Marmepurl. I’m so glad you stopped by to visit. The catmint makes me smile everytime I see it. It blooms spring-fall–another reason I like it. I’m told it attracts hummingbirds.

      Like

  6. The squirrel is incredibly cute! I think your yarrow looks gorgeous as well. We also have quite a bit of catmint – largely because our cat absolutely adores it, but it’s also great for attracting bees. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

    • I didn’t know cat’s liked catmint, though I wondered with the name, monday baker. I learned this week yarrow comes in other colors, I saw a red one and one called “pink grapefruit.” I saw the bread you featured on your blog today. It sure looks yummy!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

