Wild Bird Wednesday 44–White-crowned Sparrow

It’s time for Wild Bird Wednesday at Stewart’s blog, “Paying Ready Attention.” Come along and take a peek at some amazing birds from around the world.

The day after returning home from visiting my daughter, I found a new visitor in our yard, a White-crowned Sparrow. I’d never seen one before, so this was a real treat.Β I can’t tell you how elated I get when a new bird or critter stops by.

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

Back of its head

Back of its head

Thanks for looking!

 

40 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday 44–White-crowned Sparrow

  1. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen one of those either. Although I’ve been providing bird baths for years, I’ve just started putting out bird feeders, so I should be having some new visitors too!

    Like

  2. Patti so funny you would post this. We still have a few White-crowned Sparrows. They winter here but they should be long gone! I am sure they left the Tiny Ten yesterday with our 92 degree weather. I am glad you got to see this bird. They are so pretty and seem so gentle to me just trying to find things to eat on the ground.

    Like

    • When I saw it, I just knew I had to save it for Wild Bird Wednesday, Pix. Migration was definitely different this year. I guess that’s why the backyard bird counts are important.

      Like

  3. I have never seen a white-crowned sparrow. Great photos! Could he have stolen that crown from some fancy bird? I guess not. Word has gotten out in the avian crowd that there is no finer bird spa than Patti’s! Blessings to you…

    Like

  4. I noticed my first one at my feeder this year too. I was delighted to discover that they are a song bird. I chuckle at the racing stripe helmet looking crowns. So cute. Your photos are wonderful of this fine feathered friend. πŸ™‚

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

