Another Monday Mix

We had a productive weekend. Saturday we worked really hard at doing nothing, watched part of an NCIS marathon. I thought we would have seen all the episodes by now, but some we haven’t seen pop up occasionally. Sunday we made a grocery run. We hoped to beat the rain, but it arrived earlier than anticipated. Then it turned to a rain/snow mix. No accumulation. I hope those of you north and west of us fared well with the snow that came your way. 

A goldfinch came by last week, sporting a few bright yellow feathers.

Goldfinch

Goldfinch

 

A pair of cardinals also paid us a visit.

Male cardinal

Male Cardinal

 

 

Female cardinal

Female Cardinal

The yellow-rumped warbler was camouflaged by the new leaf growth.

Can you see the Yellow-rumped Warbler?

Can you see the Yellow-rumped Warbler?

 

One of my squirrel buddies was keeping an eye out for peanut delivery.

Squirrel!

Squirrel!

 

 

I made a birthday card for my father-in-law. 

Happy Birthday, CW

Happy Birthday, CW

 

How was your weekend?

 

36 thoughts on “Another Monday Mix

  1. You lucky gal, you have so many pretty birdies. Sounds like you had a relaxing and enjoyable weekend.
    I like that card, Your Fil should be happy to get such a loving card. It’s really handsome. You have a gift for color and design. Well done!
    🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, E.C. You said so many kind things! My FIL has been juggled from hospital to nursing home and back several times since December. I hope he can enjoy his birthday.

      Like

    • There you go with that four-letter “S” word, Pix. 🙂 Those warblers work up an appetite protecting “their” feeders! It must be the season, because the chase has been on around here, cardinals chasing cardinals, sparrows after each other. I’m surprised the robin hasn’t gotten in on the action yet. While driving today, I saw a crow dive-bombing a hawk.

      Like

  2. Hi Patti. Your weekend sounds better than mine, although I enjoyed mine. Spent my weekend recuperating from a stomach bug with a Hobbit/Lord of the Rings marathon.

    I love your pictures. I have been taking a lot of pictures of our birds and deer visitors with my little digital camera, but they always seem to come out blurry & unfocused. And then there are those with huge squares of window screen in front of the subject. I finally broke down and bought film for my Minolta, but now have to wait to get them developed. Ahh, well … such is life. 🙂

    Have a blessed day.

    Like

    • Hi Drusilla. Sorry to hear about the stomach bug. That’s never any fun! I’ve never been able to stay awake through the Lord of the Rings–I may need to start watching earlier in the day! I know the frustration of blurry pictures and window smudges. Hubby took the screens off the kitchen windows, so that helps.

      Like

  3. The weather here in Central Florida was beautiful until Saturday evening when a storm rolled through. Still, it is sunny and breezy today.

    Love your photos Patti.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • No, it’s a “volunteer” plant, but I forget what it is, Stacia. They’re cropping up all over the yard. We left it for now since the birds like to stop there and scope out the feeders. I think I did see a forsythia somewhere, but maybe I was dreaming of spring!

      Like

    • Thanks, Trisha. That one squirrel always sits like that, I get so tickled at it. I’ve been hearing bird song recently. Hopefully, yours will be singing before long.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

