Wild Bird Wednesday–33

I wish I had better photos to post, but the weather hasn’t been cooperative. This is the first year a red-breasted nuthatch visited our feeders. Today, in the pouring rain, it came to the peanut feeder closest to the window, and stayed long enough for me to grab the camera. They don’t seem to mind hanging upside down, at all. It’s a tiny bird, 4 inches (11 cm). 

Red-breasted Nuthatch

Red-breasted Nuthatch

Last week I posted the male cardinal, and have been trying to get a good shot of his mate this week. This was the best I could get. At least you can see her coloration and perky crest. She’s a beauty.

Female Northern Cardinal

Female Northern Cardinal

The Brown Thrasher visited this week, too.

Brown Thrasher

Brown Thrasher

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday

56 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday–33

      • YES! 7inches on top of 6inches of ice. Snowing now and more on Friday. Not much to some people but man it is a mess.
        I thought maybe you had the regular white breasted. Nuthatches are so dang cute and they talk the whole time they are going up and down the trees looking for bugs. yankyank yank. How fun the red breasted visited you and you saw him!

        Like

        • That is a lot of wintry mess, Pix. Ice is not our friend when it’s the base layer. I’ve never seen the white-breasted nuthatches here, just this one little red one who has spent the winter with us. Usually I get at least a dozen juncos, but this year there is only one. I miss those pretty little birds.

          Like

  1. I would genuinely enjoy sitting on your back porch, Patti. What wonderful entertainment. I hope the Nuthatch makes another appearance when the weather is better.
    Two days ago I thought of you. Joe and I watched a flock of red-winged blackbirds take flight at the same time. It was amazing.

    Like

  2. I hadn’t heard of a red breasted nut hatch before. I looked them up and they are a pretty little bird. This is the part of blogging I live for: good buddies teaching me about new things. Thanks so much. 🙂

    Like

  3. lucky you! i’ve only seen a white-breasted nuthatch here and it is very rare. and i haven’t seen a thrasher since i left wisconsin so many years ago!

    Like

  4. I see white-breasted nuthatch on a daily basis but I don’t think we have the red-breasted ones. Sometimes we don’t get the pictures we like but it is nice to be able to grab the camera and record the sighting. You did well in that regard.
    Love your thrasher shot! One passed through here in the fall. I had never seen any here before.
    Looking at your post I’m looking forward to visiting my daughter in Chesapeake this spring and watching at her feeders. 🙂

    Like

  5. Have you seen any cedar waxwings lately? We saw a huge group of them outside Short Pump Mall, going after the holly berries. Since they’re not normally in our area, we think the migration has already started. The nuthatch made me think of it because the green blur in front of it looks like the same color green.

    Nancy

    Like

    • No, but then I don’t normally see them around the yard. We have a couple hollies, but not where I can see them from inside. The only cedar waxwing I saw this year was traveling with a group of starlings.

      Like

  6. I enjoyed seeing your birds! My backyard has been lacking in feathered visitors lately. I usually have Nuthatches but haven’t seen any for months. I guess they migrated your way.

    Like

  7. Hi Patti and thanks for your sweet comment! 🙂
    Nice with birds in the garden! Love your cardinals, maybe it’s because we don’t have them here in Sweden!
    Have a nice weekend! Greetings Pia

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

