Pastel–More Mark Making

I hesitated to share this with you, but, hey, it’s practice, right? Pastels are a new medium to me, so I’m learning everything from the ground up, literally. The ground is the surface suitable for pastel work. It requires tooth to allow the build-up of many layers of color. The pastels themselves come in various forms: soft, oil, pencil.

This started out as a study in blue. I picked blue, because it isn’t a go-to color for me. As you can see, that didn’t last long.

030

I’m practicing techniques for applying pastel Β like blended and broken color, feathering, hatching, scumbling, etc. Then I learned how to correct mistakes.

The “tree” was looking pretty good, but I over-worked it until it looked like a bad haircut. My starter set is limited in colors, so I think I’m about ready to break out the Big Box. Β Thanks for stopping by!

37 thoughts on “Pastel–More Mark Making

  1. I think it looks like a happy full of personality tree! You know you are getting me all interested in pastels but I would have to drive miles for classes! I have been coloring in my coloring books that CH gave me for Christmas. Yes I have coloring books and they make me happy and peaceful when I stay inside the lines.. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing Patti. While my hand is too shaky for anything that requires a pencil or brush (even my handwriting looks like ancient Sanscrit) I appreciate the work of artists especially those who are learning to hone their crafts. My medium is the written word and photography. it’s amazing what you can do with photo shop but like you I am learning. Thanks for the follow on “Lillie-Put” by the way

    Like

  3. You’ll never get better if you don’t just do it. I fully understand about how you can accidentally ruin a work by doing too much, but that’s a matter of practice and maturity to know when to stop. I’ve trashed a fair amount of photos by taking them too far.

    I think it’s a great start for a new medium and am proud that you didn’t mind sharing it with the rest of us.

    Nancy

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

