One’s Trash, Another’s Treasure

I imagine you’ve heard the old adage, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. My mom and my aunt used to visit a little shop called Trash and Treasures, usually with my cousin and me forced to go along in tow. The merchandise looked like junk to me, at the time. The dilapidated building was dark and dingy inside, tables piled with unmatched dishes and tarnished and rusted items. I’m glad she kept me up-to-date on my tetanus shot. 

Recently, I glanced out the kitchen window and witnessed a squirrel sitting beneath a shower of sunflower seeds. I’m pretty sure there was a huge grin on its face at the treasure that befell. Looking to the feeder above, a starling was throwing out all the trash seed in hope of finding a peanut, raisin or suet pellet it would like to eat. 

I wish I could have gotten a picture of the squirrel sitting back on its haunches with its little paws clutched to its chest, looking toward heaven, sunflower seeds raining down on its head as it gave thanks for the blessing. But it was a quick blessing–there was no time to waste–dinner was served!002 - Copy 003 - Copy

25 thoughts on “One’s Trash, Another’s Treasure

  1. I put some walnuts in a low hanging feeder to lure the squirrels away from the bird feeder during the snow. And then Gretel proceeded to destroy the entire squirrel feeder. She had never done that before. Yikes! Yours looks like it isn’t being bothered.

    Like

  2. Isn’t that just a perfect thing for the high up feeder birds to take care of the ground feeders. CH always spreads seed on the ground but the turkeys have been hoovering it up so fast. Any seed thrown out is appreciated!

    Like

    • I enjoy the hunt and finding treasures now, Jayne. But back then, not so much. It was the same thing watching my mom pick out fabric. I thought she’d never finish! Now, that would be me moseying through the fabric store.

      Like

  3. Patti, I have this very scene happening right outside my dinning room window! I had to move my feeder there because the crafty little guy was able to jump in and just sit there scaring away the birds.

    Loved this word picture:

    “… the squirrel sitting back on its haunches with its little paws clutched to its chest, looking toward heaven, sunflower seeds raining down on its head as it gave thanks for the blessing. “

    Like

  4. I like how you can witness the happenings in the natural world even though you live in the city. I’m wondering if I can find a spot for a bird feeder to entice some wildlife into our little courtyard. Next time you visit, we’ll scope out a spot and then put George to work.

    Like

  5. ” squirrel sitting back on its haunches with its little paws clutched to its chest, looking toward heaven, sunflower seeds raining down on its head as it gave thanks for the blessing. ” — that would’ve been too cute LOL 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

