New Visitor–Cedar Waxwing

The weekend started off well. Hubby and I celebrated our 37th anniversary this past week, and Saturday morning he spoke those three little words that make me swoon, “Breakfast at Panera?”

Saturday afternoon, the backyard came alive! Robins and starlings returned en masse, with a few grackles and a brand new visitor. I thought I caught a glimpse of a cedar waxwing, but it quickly left me to my doubts. I’ve seen crepe myrtle trees full of them, eating berries, but never a single bird, and never in our yard. 

Much to my surprise, when I downloaded the photos, there it was! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “New Visitor–Cedar Waxwing

  1. Oh yes! That is a Ceder Waxwing! I’ve never seen one all alone either, but then I’ve only seen them two times ever, both times in groups. HaPpY AnNivErsaRY! Blessings to you and your hubby…

    Like

    • Isn’t that a great surprise, Carol Ann? God gives the best gifts. When we bought this house, there used to be a rose bush near the back door. It would have one perfect rose every November 28–until we transplanted it to a “better” location. Thank you, blessings to you.

      Like

    • Thanks, Dianna. I glanced out at the birdbath, and the sun reflected off the eye stripe and drew my attention, and then it was gone. I was so surprised to see it in that flock of starlings!

      Like

    • I’ve been bird-brained so long, Georgette…:) Mostly I can identify feeder birds, and try to identify those I stumble across when out and about. I don’t do very well with shore birds, so many varieties! Thank you.

      Like

  2. Congratulations to you and your husband, Patti! That’s AWESOME!
    Living in St. Louis Panera is pretty big around here (I think it was originally ‘St. Louis Bread Company’… or it was a sister company… something like that, anyway).
    🙂

    Like

  3. Happy Anniversary! 37 years is an awesome success. Congratulations! I hope you celebrated well, you two deserve it. 🙂
    Mother-Nature sure sent you a lovely gift for your anniversary. All the birdies looks like they’re celebrating too. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Waxwings in Ireland | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Please share your thoughts.

