Shady Character

This past Thursday I had my weekly lunch date with hubby. It was such a pretty day, I thought I’d drive around the area to see what I could find interesting to photograph and share with you. 

Sitting at a stop light, a bright blue bird flew into the trees that lay straight ahead. Sadly, the road went left and right, not straight ahead. There was a retention pond between the road and the shopping center on the other side so I drove around and pulled into a parking lot, hoping to find that pretty blue bird. I’m pretty sure it was a belted kingfisher, but couldn’t find it to confirm. I did look up and see an owl, then realized I was in Hooters’ parking lot. 

I got back in the car and drove along the road behind the mall, until I spied something moving in a stand of pine trees. Apparently, I had also been spied, and deemed suspicious. As they approached the vehicle, I rolled down the window, expecting to be asked for my driver’s license and registration.

It’s probably a good thing I stayed in the car, as they more than likely would have searched me for food. 

Deciding none was forthcoming, they quickly lost interest and went on their merry way. The big fellow didn’t take his eye off me for a minute, though. He must have thought I was a shady character. 

33 responses to “Shady Character

  1. What a lovely couple! Yes, it’s good that you stayed in the car. You might have been frisked! Your efforts to bless us with your camera were fruitful! Thank you for taking time to bring this encounter with nature to us. Blessings to you, Patti…

  2. Aren’t they handsome!

  3. Let’s see: I saw “shady character” in the title of your post, and then your first line was “lunch date with your HUBBY”. I was beginning to wonder….
    Love the owl and the Hooters reference.
    Those big ol’ Canada Geese are beautiful creatures, aren’t they?

  4. You shady? No way! They were looking for a hand out!

  5. LOL… nature aren’t the ones invading our privacy.

  6. That is funny Patti! Canada Geese, now they are some BIG birds with an attitude. Enjoy your Monday, we have more rain on the way I believe.

  7. What a pair! I hope they find their way from the road to the water.

  8. too funny! the owl sighting made me LOL! :)

  9. It’s really funny post. They are really beautiful :)

  10. A few years back a pari of Canada geese were hanging the area and visiting different neighbours. They’re so beautiful.

    • I’ve seen flocks of them, here and there, grazing in a field or hanging out at a local watering hole. Hadn’t really been this close, and didn’t realize how big they are. Thanks for stopping by, Laura.

  11. When I first saw your title I thought you might be talking about me, Patti…
    I don’t have QUITE as many feathers, though…
    so I guess I lucked out! :)

  12. How wonderful that you find the joys of life, Patti. And yes, they are big. Blessings – Maxi

  13. Great idea to drive around and look for photos. These are good shots of the geese. Thanks.

  14. We certainly do have a ton of those Canada geese here in Virginia Beach, don’t we, Patti! Nice photo capture of those two.

  15. Beautiful couple. Great photos. I’m so glad they visited with you and allowed you to photograph them to share with us. Sweet! :)

  16. Hooters parking lot…ha!

    They are cute! I bet you did look pretty shady with that camera thingy pointed at them! They probably aren’t a fan of the ‘point and shoot’ variety ;)

  17. You have 2 more fans I see! :)

  18. I loved the humor – it was a good laugh. Of course, they might have been waiting to see if you could step in the goose poop too. NO! Did I say that?

Thanks for visiting! Your comments are appreciated.

