Daily Archives: April 9, 2012

South Beach Diet

In my doctor’s office recently, I noticed a poster on the back of the door regarding weight loss. We discussed how the food pyramid has changed over time, and noted the previous one which recommended 6-11 servings of bread, cereal, rice and pasta daily has led to larger waistlines. 

She said now a low-carb diet, along the lines of The South Beach Diet, is being favored. I’ve been doing some research, looking for recipes and such. This diet was created by preventive cardiologist Dr. Arthur Agatston for his cardiac and diabetes patients. It was designed to improve his patients blood chemistry, and the side effect of it was weight loss. Sounds like a win-win situation to me! 

I have to admit, there are a few foods that I do not find appealing. More like appalling. We were eating salmon for awhile, now neither hubby nor I care to see it again. The only eggplant I enjoy is in Olive Garden‘s Eggplant Parmigiana, and that is definitely not in a healthy eating plan! The lunch portion is 620 calories, 26 grams of fat, (8g saturated) 1540 sodium (above my daily recommendation with hypertension), 70 grams of carbs.  

Looking into the South Beach Diet Plan, I learned it is divided into three phases. Phase One lasts two weeks and is designed to stabilize blood sugar, eliminate cravings and kick start weight loss. Phase Two returns a few foods forbidden in Phase One, and is the steady-loss phase until the desired weight is achieved, and Phase Three is the maintenance phase. 

If you desire to lose ten pounds or fewer, Phase One can be skipped. Personally, I’ve been stuck on a plateau for far too long, I’m ready to get that scale moving, so today starts my attempt at Phase One. 

Do any of you have experience with the South Beach Diet, or know anyone who does? Do you have any recommendations to help me accomplish Phase One?