Betty Crocker Cookbook

Yesterday, my friend Dianna wrote a post titled, “Why I Bought A Cookbook.”
Her post inspired me to write about one of my cookbooks.

I love new cookbooks, and old ones, they look so nice on my new bookshelves. Well, maybe not so nice when they look like this:

The Betty Crocker Cookbook was a wedding gift from my sister-in-law. She turned out to be a fabulous cook. (I guess she thought there was hope for me.) It was the thirteenth printing, dated 1972. 

I used this cookbook to learn everything from making toast to boiling water and beyond! Some of the pages are splattered and stained, especially the ones with our favorite recipes. 

One day I discovered an acrylic cookbook holder. It promised to keep my pages clean and hold the cookbook vertically, making it easier to read. I ignored my seventh grade English teacher’s instruction on how to prepare and protect a book’s binding so the pages remain intact. She never mentioned placing a book in a book holder; but come to think of it, acrylic probably hadn’t been invented. I don’t think she’d be pleased with the outcome. I wonder what she would think of altered books. On second thought, maybe not. I might end up in the principal’s office! 

I planned to replace this cookbook a few years later with an updated version that featured a spiral binding. It was totally different. Times had changed, many aprons were tossed aside as women sought employment outside the home. The recipes in the “new” cookbook used prepared and convenience foods so the family could have a meal that came together in a matter of minutes. I tried a few recipes and donated it to charity.

Do you have a favorite cookbook? Do you use it?

One more question, a couple regular blog readers said they haven’t been able to leave a comment recently. Some are coming through. Has anyone else had any comment-related problems? Thanks!