Oddities and Observations

I looked through the folder of backyard pictures from 2009, and found some photos to share with you. The first category is oddities, things that make you go, “Hmmmmm.” These are things I’ve seen only once.

A laptop and Wi-Fi, enabled me to commune with nature. This praying mantis provided a close-up experience.

 

OK, who left this on the feeder? I thought maybe my niece was playing a joke on me.

One morning I awoke to find the feeder turned upside down. I figured the pigeons had gotten rowdy when breakfast was late.

 

The second category  is observations. It’s like time stands still.  Some things never change. 

Starlings can always be found at the community pool.

Pigeons can always be found at the community pool.

Smile, you're on Candid Camera!

 

 

32 responses to “Oddities and Observations

  1. What – no gypsy troupe washing clothes with your garden hose? No parts from the space station? Sink hole? You gotta boring back yard. And no alligator either?

  2. I love your pictures. I have two bird feeders, one of which is really tall and sits atop a post. The other hangs from a shepherd’s hook and is octagonal. This winter, the deer discovered the lower one and spend the nights emptying it out. We can fill it before dark, and by sunrise there is nothing left expect pawed earth beneath it. Little buggers!

  3. The egg … now that mystery gets me. Blessings – Maxi

  4. The praying mantis only wanted to send an email!

  5. Did you ever figure out who laid the egg??

  6. Patti you have me laughing here this morning. Those pigeons are some BIG birds. I love Praying Mantis, seriously, their little faces just amaze me. The egg is really too too funny :D Enjoy your Wednesday Patti, I will be outside!

  7. bird bah fun… my favorite

  8. The egg and the upside down feeder got me!

  9. rowdy bunch you have there! the pigeon made me laugh! an egg? what a bonus!

  10. Patti, what wonderful pictures and creative captions! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Well, whose egg was it???

  11. What fun photos to find in your folder. Got a lot of giggles and hmmms out of them. lol Thanks for sharing. :)

  12. We have to come to your yard for the party – looks like there’s a lot of fun going on there!

    Nancy

  13. Hahahaha! What fun! Your backyard is a regular riot, Patti. I applaud your ability to capture the moments. Too funny!

  14. Those are some great pictures. The praying mantis is my favorite – such a cool shot! I think I need to move….I never find wildlife in my backyard (this could be because I don’t look too hard, for fear I might find a scorpion or a snake.)

  15. Your captions really made me laugh. Beautiful pictures. You created this post beautifully.
    I hope the pigeons must be regretting for not smiling that day. As they are the star of today’s show in your blog. :)

Thanks for visiting! Your comments are appreciated.

