Marching On

March certainly roared in like a lion in some areas, didn’t it? A record number of tornadoes, and dozens of deaths were reported. I read a news item that said a tornado with 175 mph/281km winds was on the ground wreaking devastation for 52 miles/83 km. So hard to imagine. We’ve gotten a lot of rain this weekend. I checked Weatherbug, and it mentioned the “S” word (snow) possibility for our Monday morning. Weather.com says no accumulation, it will turn to rain later in the day. 

No matter the weather, life goes on. A niece on my side of the family accepted a proposal of marriage Saturday, and a nephew on hubby’s side welcomed a daughter Sunday. 

We worked on a small project on the home front. Ten-or-so years ago, I refinished an old buffet that had been in my parent’s house from as far back as I can remember. Since it came to live with us, it has been OVERloaded with kitchen accessories for lack of a better place to store them. The wood that held the door hinges deteriorated over the years of use, the holes enlarged by the screws. I think Dad even tried nailing in the hinges. In other words, we never put the doors on. Then there was the issue of sticking drawers. They were planed, but the wood continues to swell and stick. To me, it became an eyesore, taking up valuable real estate.

Last week, before the strained back, I purchased some shelving to replace the buffet. Saturday, I emptied the buffet of its contents and hubby carted it out to the garage; then he began to put the shelves together. Sunday after church, he finished that job, and then it was my turn again.

I arranged the removed articles (and then some) on the shelves, freeing up counter space in the process. Now I would like to find some baskets or containers to accessorize the shelves and to hold small items, and this job will be complete.

I also managed to find a new home for my laptop…on my DESK. Isn’t that a novel idea? Well, it’s Monday, let’s make the most of it!

31 thoughts on “Marching On

  1. It’s so true. While our hearts pour out to those affected by the severe weather, we still have chores, celebrations, and lives that must – as you say – march on. Well said.

  2. I love the buffet! Hope you aren’t seeing s.n.o.w. this morning. I don’t want to even think about snow anymore now. I am in Spring mode and so is everything on the Tiny Ten~birds, flowers, trees, grass! The weather has been too wild and crazy.

    • Thanks, Pix. We didn’t see any snow (that I know of). Unless it came and left before I got out of bed. Our daughter, 2-1/2 hrs. north posted a picture of the kids with a snowman they built today, nearly as tall as they are. She said it melted quickly, though.

    • I need mine on the desk for some workshops and videos. Hard to make art and balance the laptop, too! lol No, you don’t have to clean off your desk. How’s the hubby?

  3. The tornado victims need our prayers…

    The originality of your buffet makes it unique; a coat of “minwax” will do wonders. I have used it on old headboards and such; you can’t believe the difference.

    Blessings – Maxi

  4. Yes, prayers for so many victims.
    I love your buffet. Tall woven dark baskets or canvass would even give it an “updated” look…then you can be traditional vintage and modern! How’s that?

  5. Oh the organization bug hit your household, didn’t it? It is wonderful to get things organized like that. I want to see your new shelves!!!! I love the basket idea and I am sure it will work out for you once you find the right ones. The buffet is beautiful but I totally understand the frustration with sticky drawers. We have a couple antique dressers like that and it drives me nuts. We are going to bring back several nice antiques from my father in law’s estate in April and I am trying to figure out where to put them and how to use them. Hope the back continues to heal!!!!

    • I’ve been wanting to do something on that kitchen wall for a while, just hadn’t found the right thing. I collected Pfaltzgraff Folk Art pieces until they were no longer available, and I want to display them. Having them piled all over the buffet was not the look I was going for! I hope to post the new shelving pix Tuesday. Thanks, it’s doing better, more flexible.

  6. Congratulations to your family! Such wonderful news! Awesome!
    It’s such a good feeling to get a project like that done, too, isn’t it? Well… I would imagine, anyway. I’ve got a few of those to get around to… any day now. Maybe. :)

    • I appreciate your expertise on that, Carl. Never would have thought of match sticks. Just happened to find a box of wood and paper ones in one of the drawers.

  7. One woman’s trash is another’s treasure. That is a lovely piece of furniture. Man, the things I could do with it.glad you got your kitchen re-done. That is always a good feeling to get something accomplished.

    • I just need a better way to store some of the kitchen stuff, get it off the counter top so there’s work space, etc. Our rooms are small, so whatever takes up space needs to do it efficiently. The buffet just couldn’t handle it.

  8. I like the buffet, but sometimes a piece of furniture just doesn’t serve our needs no matter how much we’d like it to. It’s even more difficult to part with a piece when it’s a family heirloom…too much history tied to it.

  9. ooh…and now I have an idea about what you can do with the old buffet…take all of the drawers out, paint it either ivory or sage green, then find cute baskets that fit the cubby holes and use it all for a light, airy storage unit.

Please share your thoughts.

