Fat, er, Flat Tuesday

I arose early this morning with big plans for the day and promptly set about laundry, tidying up–and just as quickly pulled a muscle in my lower back–unloading that new dishwasher, nonetheless! One would think I’d have learned that lesson by now, heat and stretches come first. 

The day was spent standing or stretching out with ice and/or heat. When I was up, I washed the pots and pans that awaited in the sink, read email/blogs at the kitchen counter, and kept an eye on the birds. A hawk stopped by, but left with empty talons. It was too quick for me to photograph. 

The hardest part of the day was missing writers group tonight.

Here’s another slideshow so you can see some different visitors, most of these only show up at the feeders in winter:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

40 thoughts on “Fat, er, Flat Tuesday

    • Thanks, Dianna. I sat for a few minutes this morning to test it, and was able to get back out of the chair. :) I had to “practice,” as I have an appointment to get my hair cut this evening.

      Red-winged blackbirds are one of my favorites, too. Love to see that patch of red in flight, which doesn’t stay in one’s field of vision very long.

  1. Love the slideshow! I know the hawks have to eat too but breaks my heart. CH loves Red-Winged Blackbirds but we have not a one. Sorry about your back. I heard a tiny pop last Wednesday morning while I was cleaning out the bathtub and threw my back out. Three of those heat wrap thingies and an adjustment from the chiropractor and I am good. Hope your back is doing better this morning. That bend and twist combination is a back breaker!

  2. Bless your heart, I hope you get to feeling better soon. My healing thoughts and prayers are with you. (((healing hugs)))
    Great birdie slide show. I really like the way you captured them in flight. So cool. :)

  3. The type of injury you have is sooo painful, Patti. Been there. Hope you feel better soon.

    You have some beautiful birds that come to visit in your yard.

    Blessings – Maxi

  4. Sheesh…don’t you hate it when you have your day all planned out and then something happens (like throwing your back out) to completely mess up your plans? Great pictures of the birds tho…very entertaining!!

  5. Nice slide show! When I saw the picture of the red winged blackbird on the ground, I didn’t understand why it was named as such – no red to be seen. Then, I saw the one in flight – wow! That is so pretty…the name makes sense now :)

    I’m sorry about about your back. I hope you get back to normal quickly.

  6. So sorry about your back. Hope you feel better soon.I pulled mine once just lifting up the laundry basket. Hurt for 3 days!!! Love the birds! Thanks for sharing!!

  7. Funny, I don’t normally think of unloading the dishwasher as the type of sport that requires a warmup.

    Mine was truly a fat Tuesday. I had Cheetos and Reese’s Peanut Butter Easter Eggs for dinner (main course), and chocolate cookies for dessert. I still feel sick.

    Hope your back is better soon.

  8. I do know that feeling, when i drive to the feed store (read: heavy lifting) I put the heater on in the seat of my car, and that heat works.. poor you, well it will be a few days before that muscle relaxes.. what a bore! c

    • Thanks. I was improving, but overdid it Thursday–not a patient patient, always too many things I’d rather do than lie around and get better. But, now I have no choice…

Please share your thoughts.

