Mount Trashmore Park

As one leaves the Appalachian mountains in western Virginia, crosses the Piedmont heading for the coast, one does not expect to find yet another mountain on the coastal plain.

The end of January, I beckoned you to come and sit on a park bench overlooking a beautiful lake, and am finally getting around to sharing the history of that location with you.  

The city website describes Mount Trashmore as a world-renowned park for its environmental factor. True to its name, it was created by compacting solid waste and clean soil. If you click the previous link, you can see an aerial view of the park. It lies adjacent to I-264, the expressway to the oceanfront. This link shows the skateboard center, and gives the history of the park that opened in 1978. 

Most anyone who lived in Virginia Beach in 1992 remembers the April Fool’s joke by a local radio station’s DJs. It was announced on-air that Mount Trashmore was on the verge of exploding from methane gas buildup. Callers lit up the 911 switchboards, parents kept children home from school, and people fled the vicinity. The April Fool link takes you to an article that describes that day and the repercussions affecting the DJs and the station. Who says nothing happens at the beach during the off-season? 

 

36 responses to “Mount Trashmore Park

  1. Beautiful photographs.

  2. Hi Patti. Beautiful photos. I think the joke was on the DJ’s. Enjoyed reading the article. TFS. Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind words.
    Regards Florence x

  3. I remember when that radio incident happened (although I didn’t listen to that station)!
    I’ve always thought the name “Mount Trashmore” was so creative; I think I recall that a contest was held and the person who suggested this name won.

    • I didn’t listen to that station, either, Dianna. It opened the same year we moved here, but I didn’t realize that until reading the article. I didn’t know how it got named.

  4. I knew that had to be a Henry the Bull joke!

  5. Interesting post Patti. I have never heard of Mount Trashmore. Your Canada Geese pictures are very tranquil this morning :)

  6. I’ve never heard of Mt Trashmore. Thanks for the info and the links. Your photos are really pretty. Mt Trashmore looks like a lovely place to visit. It’s so wonderful they made such a beautiful place. :)

  7. oh my goodness! the prank is funny – but not! :)

    • It’s hard to imagine it would have caused so much trouble, Theresa. I didn’t listen to that station, so heard about it later when it was declared a hoax.

  8. Love the photos, Patti, and the Canada geese :)

  9. The geese are lovely … the joke, not.

    Blessings – Maxi

  10. Patti, nice photos and funny story. When I first saw the title I was expecting pictures of some trashed park. Did you notice your tag in my posting? Did you notice the small “Thank you” button that was NOT on your tag? After mailing it I found it on the floor where I had photographed it. I guess it didn’t have much sticky on it. So, as you saw in the posting, that was how it was supposed to come. I’ve had lots of lovely comments on your tag.

    • Thanks, Coleen. No, I hadn’t noticed that detail was missing! It was so beautiful, and I was looking at all the elements and the inks. I’ll have to pop over and get it from you! :)

  11. Can we say “War of the Worlds”? Some people are very gullible, aren’t they?

  12. Too funny! What part of Western Virginia are you from?

  13. That would have been a scary thing for those families. What a terrible joke. Our son played a good one on us one year where he made us believe someone had broken in the house.

    • These guys might have been the original “shock” jocks.
      That would be so unsettling, Christine. We had some friends whose home was burglarized, and witnessed the raw emotions of no longer feeling safe.

  14. Mt. Trashmore is such an odd name, but the pictures show a peaceful place. I hope they thought twice before pulling another April Fool’s stunt :)

  15. Beautiful story and photos Patti. I spend a lot of time there weekly. My favorite place to walk, relax and take photos!

  16. The geese are enjoying the park as well- glad it didn’t, erm, explode! ;)

  17. What an interesting post and place. I like the photos, too. Blessings to you, Patti…

  18. Brilliant post. I laughed at the cheeky DJ’s tricks!

Thanks for visiting! Your comments are appreciated.

