Wednesday, Where Did You Go?

I’ve been cutting, marking, sewing, ripping…(only a wee bit of the latter). I LOVE my electric scissors. I gave up sewing for quite awhile as cutting with regular scissors aggravated the myofascial pain. It’s good to be able to work with fabric again. 

I finally got to use the new dishwasher this week! Poor hubby had to do the army crawl under the house (a few times) to run the new drain. Then he changed the water inlet pipes and did some electrical wiring. This might be my favorite feature:

This is the cutlery tray that slides in and out above the top rack–no more basket! 

I’d better get back to the sewing machine, or go to bed…
Have a great Thursday! 

24 thoughts on “Wednesday, Where Did You Go?

  1. For shame! How can a person that still has her sewing machine stoop to using a dishwasher? The dishwasher makes me insane. Father washes the dishes completely sparkling clean before they go into the dishwasher. Why? Why? Why? And if there are fewer things so as not to use the dishwasher and are washed by hand they must be dried and put away immediately. Why? The dishes dry by themselves in a few minutes anyway, so why must they be dried? Why? And who has dish towels anymore anyway? I hate dishwashers. On the other hand, I hate paper plates even more. It’s a tree hugger thing. This is all your fault. How am I to get today’s blog work done being distracted and infuriated over this dish washer matter? You will also notice that none of the political candidates are addressing this issue – like it will wash itself away or something.

    • I know people from your father’s generation that do/did the same thing. A few things still need to be washed by hand, but I know they will dry on their own! They get no special attention in that area unless I need the counter space. Oh, I have confidence that you will be inspired to do your blog work, not letting you blame that on me! They won’t come to debate in our town, they know the question looms…Have a blessed day, Carl, thanks for the smiles.

  2. How do they just keep improving on the design? A cutlery tray you say? Our nephew and wife says their machine makes NO noise.
    Electric scissors? So glad they help you return to the lovely fabrics you enjoy so much.
    Poor Carl.

    • Hi Georgette. Yes, this cutlery tray is wonderful. I didn’t even know I needed one! This dishwasher is much quieter than the old one, more insulation. Thanks for you kind thoughts–toward me, and Carl!

  3. I’m lovin’ the cutlery tray, jealous actually, wishin’ I had one. Although, I’m like Carl’s dad … it’s only me, don’t need the diswasher, wash and dry by hand…

    Blessings – Maxi

  4. I hope you’ll post some of your sewing creations and a photo of your electric scissors. I have a pair that my sister got when she was a teenager many decades ago. Amazingly they still work like a charm.I don’t use them very often because I’m afraid I’ll break them.
    I like that tray. I bet your flatware and cutlery comes out cleaner now. It’s such a welcomed help to have a dishwasher. :)

    • If I ever finish anything, E.C., I’d be glad to post! lol I remember my grandmother having electric shears. I was small, so I don’t remember much about hers, except for the noise they made. I’m really liking that tray in the dishwasher, and am thankful to have it working again.

  5. Nice dishwasher! We are like Carl’s dad…but we have to wash them off because after sitting there for the two days it takes to fill up the dishwasher, they won’t come clean. Our dishwasher is old and noisy, but until it stops running, I won’t spend money on a new one. I guess I’d rather complain about it instead :)

    • Thanks, Janna. Some things I soak if it’s going to be a couple days, but I don’t know that I need to. Time to experiment! It’s hard to put money out to replace a working appliance. You should see the stove that sits next to the dishwasher! We’ve been going to replace it (for years!), but something else seems to come up. Maybe once we get the floor done we’ll reconsider .

  6. I like that cutlery rack! No nesting spoons. No basket. Cool! I’m glad your kitchen is fully functional again. We are so spoiled in this country. God is good. We are sissies. I know I am. I hate to be without the conveniences to which I’ve grown accustomed. I know that the simple life is best; yet, how simple do I really mean? No dirt floors or outdoor plumbing, please. I could make a very long list of no-thank-you items. Blessings to you, Patti…

  7. Wow! I’ve never seen a cutlery rack! How it is working? Very cool, Patti. And your title – where did Wednesday go? I’m with you. This week has flown, and I can’t say I have much to show for it. I’m behind with my reading and writing, too. Frustration is creeping in ..

    • I’m very pleased with the rack, Lenore. I’m way behind on everything! It is easy to get frustrated, but we shouldn’t let that steal our joy. We are still human, and can only do so much. As long as we get the important stuff done, the rest will fall into place along the way.

    • Our dishwasher is a Miele. Some models have the basket, so be sure to check out features. Bosch also offers a cutlery rack, but I was unable to find any pictures of theirs. Thanks, the electric scissors make a world of difference!

Please share your thoughts.

