Cloudy Memories and O. Henry

We were on the receiving end of much rainfall this past week. Friday, the darkness of the clouds was overcome by light. I snapped a few to share with you. 

Dark clouds to the east...

Starting to break up...

To the west, the end is in sight, nothing but blue skies to come. Also, the last leaf, hanging on.

Studying the last photo, my eye was drawn to “the last leaf,” which reminded me of a short story by William Sydney Porter,  better known by his pen name O. Henry. If you are not familiar with this story, it can be found at the highlighted links. 

When my daughter was in middle school, often she would read her assignments aloud to me. One afternoon as I prepared dinner, she read, “The Last Leaf.” 

As she neared the end of the story, I burst into tears! How does one get so wrapped up with emotion in a short story? O. Henry certainly had a way with words, wit, and was known for his surprise endings.  I hope you’ll check out some of his stories. They are quite entertaining–just what one needs to turn around a cloudy day. To learn more about the author, click here.