Raining…Pigeons?

I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase “raining cats and dogs,” haven’t you? 

On a recent evening when shooting a sunset, this large flock (also called a kit or loft) of pigeons began circling the area, looking for a place to spend the night, I suppose. I’m just glad they didn’t find our house! 

RIVER OF STONES, Jan. 23

Saturday, the rain came, and stayed. Though it rendered the day dark and dreary, a visit to the fabric store added a bolt of color that brightened my day.


52 thoughts on “Raining…Pigeons?

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a kit of pigeons that plentiful. They’re lovely creatures. I understand what you mean about them not finding your house. ;)
    Great river stone for the day. I agree, new fabric can definitely cheer up the day. :)

  2. that is one bird if have NEVER seen at Run*A*Round in the almost 10 yrs we’ve been here. i’ve seen them down the road a bit, but never here. i guess we’ve got too many hawks?

  3. On the west coast of BC it rains pigeons almost everyday! When they eat the blackberries it gets very messy but I still like them for some reason. Love the picture!

  4. Wow, we get a lot that perch on the roof of an apartment block near a riverside but you don’t often see them all fly off together – lovely photo

  5. oh…I’m a fabric fanatic!! I enjoy just looking and feeling the various bolts of fabric at any fabric store..

    The pigeons…very cool…one of these mornings I’m going to capture (on camera) the crows that descend on our store parking lot about 7:30 every morning…crazy birds get on the roof and it sounds like a group of people walking around up there…

    • I guess I inherited my “feel fabric” trait from my mom. You’ll have to post pictures of your crows, Patti. They wander from the local shopping center to our yard occasionally for peanuts. Huge birds.

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting, Aimee. For us, it’s usually pigeons or blackbirds we see most often. Some flocks of geese are rather large, too, but I see those in other areas, not so much here.

  6. Another fabulous photo. No one hopes a pigeon will stop by. It’s funny, because some people raise them and consider them pets. On the other hand, the person I’m thinking of didn’t want common pigeons to mingle with his fancy pigeons. When I have nothing to say, I say it anyway. Duh. Blessings to you…

    • My dad raised pigeons, too, Carol Ann, but I don’t remember much about them, only which coop was theirs, and there was an opening at the top of the door where they could come and go. Looking at the patterns on the ones that visit here, there’s been a lot of mingling! lol Blessings to you, too.

  7. Good Morning Patti! I have never known to refer to a large flock of pigeons as a kit or loft. Something new learned today :) I can never get a good shot of birds in the sky. I think I would be happy they didn’t find our house too! Nice shot Patti!

    • I was able to get this shot because they appeared to be looking for a place to land for the night, and I was on the top deck of a parking garage. I can’t imagine the mess they would leave behind. Thanks!

  8. In north Miami Dade the crows have been filling the sky like this lately. There is also a flock of several hundred small green parrots that are not native that probably bred form a few pet birds released 30 or so years ago.

Please share your thoughts.

