Wings, or Tail, or Both

Today’s post features some small (but quick) subjects; but unfortunately, the photographer doesn’t move as fast. The first two pictures are a bit blurred, and I apologize. This was the first time I’d ever seen a Gulf Fritillary and wanted to share. I had been shooting TIFF files, and they take longer to load, making it hard to shoot quickly. Note to self:  Not good for chasing butterflies. 

Featuring wings, here we have the Gulf Fritillary.

For the tail section, a newt. (Not to be confused with Newt, the  political figure).

And for both wings and tails, here is a long-tailed skipper. (Skippers are identified by the hook at the end of the antenna). This was my first sighting of one of these, also. Loved the color! Its texture reminded me of velvet.Thanks for looking. I can’t believe it’s Friday already, hope you have a great weekend. 

26 responses to “Wings, or Tail, or Both

  1. A blurry butterfly picture is better than none at all :) Butterlies are so hard to photograph. I like your newt. Maybe he should run for office? It couldn’t hurt!

  2. You did a great job to capture the butterfly, looks like a Monarch.

  3. Butterflies are very hard to capture in motion. But they’re so beautiful, it’s worth the chase.

    • At home, I would have persisted until I got a good picture (or the butterfly tired of me and left) but this was in a landscaping bed at a resort, and I didn’t feel like I should be traipsing about in it.

  4. Butterflies do get a bit flighty when a camera is nearby. You done a nice job capturing their essence. That last butterfly photo is a pretty bugger. Love that lizard it’s a charming critter. :)

  5. Thanks, E.C. “Capturing their essence.” Thanks for that, I feel better about posting a blurry picture.

  6. Perhaps we should call them “flutterflies” as that is what they do. You only capture the motion if it’s a bit blurry. Love to see the creatures you find in your yard.

  7. Great pictures. And I like your newt. :-)

  8. love the long-tailed skipper, well, and the newt is pretty darn cute too!

  9. Did you know that Newt Gingrich’s hobby is fossil hunting?

  10. Even being a bit slower, you still captured some amazing shots. I remember how I struggled during the butterfly show.

  11. Love these shots!!! My kind of photo!!! And I can sympathize… I’m a butterfly chaser myself with only modest success. Enjoy the day!

  12. Great photos. Nature is truly a wonderous thing to behold and you capture it very well.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

  13. Love the pictures! My favorite is the anole (lizard). I used to relish catching those (and letting them go!) when I was a kid :).

    • Thanks! I appreciate the education on the lizard–never been around them. I imagine they were tricky to catch. I’m going to keep you on file as my reptilian resource for future run-ins with such things. :)

  14. Butterflies are VERY hard to get pictures of- it seems that birds are easier to creep up on!

Thanks for visiting! Your comments are appreciated.

