Mulch, and More Mulch

I suppose I just gave away what *we’ve been up to this weekend.

*For clarification, “we”  means I went along for the ride to Lowe’s. :)

I came outside to create today’s post, but there have been a lot of distractions. Thinking I’d take care of some plant watering, the timer keeps reminding me I need to move the hose. The birds were creating quite a ruckus. When I looked to see what had gotten them all atwitter, I spied a cat stealthily creeping behind the euonymous (shrub) and promptly shooed it away. You have not heard such a cacophony until you have a tree full of grackles exercising their trademark “rusty hinge” voice. Peaceful birdsong has returned, and it is music to my ears. 

Saturday I watched Mama Downy (tiny woodpecker) make several trips from the suet feeder to the oak tree. Here’s a picture of who was waiting for her to bring sustenance. 

That day, I also got the sad news from our neighbor that this oak tree is scheduled to be removed this coming weekend. It’s certainly going to make a big difference in the amount of sunshine that reaches our yard. Maybe I should look into the care and feeding of cacti.