Priorities

The last several days found me at my daughter’s house, charging up and down I-95, hanging out with some great kids in restaurants, shopping, etc.; and running on very little sleep.

Thursday was a beautiful day, and I headed home around 2:30 p.m., which is normally a 2.5 hour drive. I decided to avoid the interstate and drive the back roads so I could enjoy the scenery, at a leisurely pace.

My detail-oriented hubby suggested I take his GPS with me at the onset of my trip. And I was glad I did. Yes, I got the scenic route I had planned, along with a lot of scenery I had never had the opportunity to explore… but not necessarily by choice!

As I pulled into a gas station for my final (or so I thought) pit-stop, the little voice exclaimed, “Severe traffic ahead, recalculating!” However, when one is on a peninsula, there are only so many options. In this case, there would not be any options for quite some time. It was about 5:00 p.m., and there was a drawbridge in my future; but we were separated by a one-lane-road-ahead-milling-and-paving operation, and maybe a thousand cars or so. The folks in the northbound lanes must have been distracted by our predicament, had a multi-car crash, and traffic wasn’t moving on that side of the median, either. Somewhere between there and the drawbridge, I wished I’d become an engineer, and able to design the feature that would hold the brake pedal, yet allow the vehicle to creep minimal distances as required, as the two devices that typically work interchangeably in that situation were wearing slam out!

Eventually, my tires connected with the drawbridge, and soon after, the GPS Lady suggested an alternative route. I was ready to go wherever she wanted to take me. We went hither and yon, as apparently, I’m not very good at following her directions. Then, there arose the proverbial fork in the road. At first I told her I wanted to go HOME, but Plan B transpired, and we were going to pick up the hubby at work and get dinner, which led to a couple of choices of bridge/tunnels.

After choosing one, we were off and running. Then there was the sign announcing a drawbridge opening of which we were right on schedule to observe; but GPS Lady saved the day, whisking us off yet another unexplored exit where we experienced yet another one-lane-road-milling-and-paving operation. It was after 10:00 p.m. when we arrived HOME, but my tummy was full, the GPS Lady was given the night off, which leads to the priority title of this entry–first thing this morning–

And now if you’ll excuse, me, I need a nap!